The Accident

WARNING: Some of the content below is very graphic…and it’s sad. It just is.

—-

Pain.

Mine. Yours. Theirs. Is it real? Is it worse? Can you understand mine? Can I yours? Does hearing mine make yours hurt less? Is it too much?

When I was little, there was a lot of it. But I didn’t understand it, really. And I certainly didn’t talk about it, mainly because I was horrified. But also because I knew that it would make people sad to think of me being sad. I didn’t want anyone else to be sad, so I just didn’t talk about it.

This was the impetus for what came to be a lifelong survival tactic. I would seek out others whose pain I thought to be worse than mine, whose pain was real. This would give me a perspective of how trivial mine really was. Maybe I could even help them feel better. Maybe I would feel better. Sometimes I did. And sometimes it all just made me feel worse.

Admittedly, for the most part, I really did not believe pain was relative. I tried to empathize with my friend’s sadness over a broken heart or a fight with her boyfriend. I tried to understand why she was so sad and thought her life was ending. I mean, I tried to. But I couldn’t shut off the voice inside. “Really? You think that is pain? I could tell you about what real pain is, but it will make you sad. And I don’t want you to be sad”.

On the rare occasion that I did share my story, it was done with a tone of indifference so as to not make anyone uncomfortable. I would remain detached while describing the last few minutes before my father’s last breath. I would even leave space for some comic relief if necessary. I would be laughing and my friends would be crying. Well I didn’t want them to cry. So I quit telling my story.

I trained myself just to listen, to offer advice when appropriate, to empathize but not draw too much attention to my pain. I just listened to yours. Yours could not possibly be as bad, right? Besides, I needed to cry, and I could only cry because of your pain, not mine.

As bad. This is what gives pain its power. I compare mine to yours, as you do yours to mine, whether to minimize it or justify it. We all know we are going through different versions of the same thing, that we all have the same pain to varying degrees. We all know sharing our stories and naming our pain will help us heal. But we all still default to either believing that ours is all there is or that it is nothing at all. We don’t want to be the victim. We don’t want to be the cause of more sadness or pain. We don’t want to be exposed, or weak or stigmatized. We don’t want to be in pain.

So this is how I tried to navigate my story, constantly trying to find ways to deal with it while not exposing it. I minimized it or numbed it or I found ways to trivialize it.

But this time I can’t. This time, it’s too big. There is no hiding it. It can’t be minimized. And I can’t find anyone else’s that will allow me to trivialize it or help me gain a perspective. This time, I have to go through it, and you have to know about it. And I’m sorry, but you might have to feel it.

I was flying back to Texas after spending a month in Paris. How bad could my life be, right? I just spent a month in Paris. But I spent it by myself, completely heartbroken, in almost every way possible.

On the flight to Paris, I truly believed we were going to make it. He was going to do whatever it took to make it work. Maybe he could even come meet me in Paris at some point. But none of that happened. And I was furious with myself. Not because I was sad. I deserved to be sad. I was furious that I could not stop crying over him, while their parents most likely could not stop crying over them. All three of them. All three of them who were dead. But I wasn’t. I was alive, flying back from Paris, all limbs and organs intact, save my heart.

I was in the right hand lane, trailing about 6 feet behind the car in front of me that was in the left hand lane. I was a quarter of a mile away from my apartment.

I heard them hit. And then they hit me. And within an hour, they were all dead.

I still don’t understand what happened exactly. I have replayed it in my head over and over trying to make sense of it. What I was told was that a car full of three 22-year old boys swerved into our lane coming from the opposite direction going 80 miles/hour. They hit the girl in front of me, and then were catapulted into my lane. The car spun around 180 degrees and I slammed into the two boys on the driver’s side. I didn’t have time to hit the brakes. They were my brakes. And they all died.

I tried to throw the door open to get out. It was jammed shut. I finally stumbled out and just stood there, paralyzed, trying to get my head around what had just happened. Everything was a complete blur of lights and distorted shapes- scraps of metal, severed bumpers, a license plate crumpled up like a piece of trash, orange shards of broken headlights, smells of gas fumes, smoke, hot oil, and burnt rubber. I remember thinking how quiet it was. I can still hear the slight buzz of traffic off in the distance and the sound of fluids spewing out of our cars. The crunch of shattered glass underneath my feet seemed offensive as I made my way over to the side of the road.

I tried to take it all in, not even seeing the crowd of people gathering around me. I frantically began to call the only person I knew in Arlington. He didn’t answer. So I just sat there, methodically pulling cold blades of grass from the ground beneath me, my entire body violently shaking, either from shock or the relentless chill that blanketed the scene of mutilated cars strewn out before me. All were now empty, save one.

The driver, his head, was distorted in a way that reminded me of a painting by Salvador Dalí, tilted backwards as if it was melting down his back. Blood poured out of every part of him. The boy directly behind him, the other one I hit, his head was thrown back too, but facing away from me. I could see his left arm dangling out of the shattered window, blood pouring out of every part of him.

And I just sat there, watching, pulling cold, wet blades of grass out of the ground. I watched the policeman approach the car to access the damage. I watched the fire department arrive and begin to cut them out of the car. I watched them put the boys onto stretchers and push them into the ambulance. I watched the ambulance drive away.

I only later found out that there was a third boy in the car. They didn’t even bother pulling him out.

I continued to sit there, waiting for him to call me back, until someone finally realized it was me who was driving the other car.

Two hours later, after enduring question after question, I was asked the final one.

“Do you have anyone who can come pick you up?”

“No.”

Awkward pause.

“Can we give you a ride?”

“No. I’m okay. Thanks. I can walk.”

The onsite counselor finally insisted on taking me home. She was understandably worried.

“Do you have anyone who can come over?”

“No.”

“What about friends or family you can call?”

“Um, yeah… I will try to call someone. Don’t worry. I’ll be fine. I mean, I’m still alive, right? I’ll be fine.”

I have this weird thing I do on planes. Sometimes I just can’t commit to watching a movie I don’t really want to for 2 hours, so I watch whatever the person next to me is watching. I can’t hear it, so I just kind of make up my own story and dialogue.

We were about an hour away from the Dallas/Ft.Worth airport, and I was in an absolute state of panic about what I had to deal with after we landed. So I watched his movie instead. I hated it. It was stupid. Just another story. One poor kid, trying to fight back, experiencing disappointment and heartbreak. Oh, and his girlfriend died. That was legitimately sad. But it happens. Death happens. He might as well learn how to deal with it.

It finally ended and the man took off his headphones. I looked at him and made some asinine comment about how trivial it all is.

“It’s life, man. It’s pain. It’s real”, he replied.

“I’m sorry, but no it’s not. It’s a movie. You want to hear real? I was in a car accident a month ago and the three boys I hit died. They all died”. That is pain. That is real.”

He closed his laptop and looked back up at me.

“God, I am so sorry. That is beyond heartbreaking, I know. I know, because my wife and son were in a car accident. My wife and son, they both died in that car accident.”

I shut my mouth. And I cried. In a matter of seconds, my pain became insignificant, and his pain was all that mattered.

So Pain. When is it enough to be justified, to be real? I keep on hearing stories like this. About pain. Mine, yours, theirs, all of us wondering what the fuck we are supposed to do with it. We feel it, we witness it, we create it, and we try to heal it. But it is always there, somewhere on the spectrum. And it hurts, and we need to live our lives, so we try to hide it, dismiss it, numb it, or hopefully try to heal it.

I’m not quite sure how to do that, exactly, to heal it. I do know, however, how I won’t – by hiding it. dismissing it, or numbing it. I’ve tried those. They only feed it. They are what sustain it.

What I have finally come to terms with is this. All of our pain is justified. All of it is real. We all bleed the same. The source of our wounds may differ. The extent of the damage may differ, but in the end, the results are the same. We bleed and it hurts. And we have to find a way to make it stop if we are going to survive.

So I’m telling you about mine. Hoping it will help to stop yours. And I’m asking you to tell me yours, hoping it will help to stop mine.

This is what I want for all of us. I just want it to stop. This is why I am finally telling my story. I want us all to transform our pain into a beautiful scar that we can someday wear proudly, to show to others and utilize as a means to share our wisdom and experience.

But this won’t happen if we don’t give ourselves permission to feel it. To acknowledge that what is happening or has happened is terrible. To allow ourselves to feel sad and angry and resentful and, yes, like a victim.

We are victims of our pain. But our pain does not make us victims.

Our pain makes us real. It gives us depth and courage and resilience. It gives us the opportunity to gain perspective and to practice empathy. It dissuades us from judging too harshly or minimalizing our own or others’ experiences.

Our pain is what makes us human. It is why i believe we are here, to experience the full spectrum of emotions, to learn from them, grow from them and use them to help others do the same. It is the only way we can truly do the one thing we are all here to do. To love.

When we feel pain, when we understand it and when we learn how to heal ourselves and help others to heal, this is how we know we can truly love, fully, with no regard for what we might get in return…even if it is more pain.

This is why I am telling my story.

http://dfw.cbslocal.com/2016/11/20/arlington-police-investigating-fatal-vehicle-accident/amp/

 


Please check out my social enterprise, Briya, and help us empower women and children with education and economic advancement opportunities across the globe.

Briya produces fashionable bags and accessories that allow adventurous spirits and dedicated change-makers to travel in style while helping women and children to reach their full potential in underprivileged regions around the world.

www.briyabags.com

me.gypsy.fav.cross.legs

4 thoughts on “The Accident

  1. Thanks so much for sharing your difficult story. It will definitely help others to be able to share theirs, which, as you know, is critical for the healing process. Also, it is beautifully written, you are a talented writer. Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing this Brooke. I will write you back, but wanted you to know that I was able to read your story.
    This deserves more thoughtful attention than I am capable of formulating into a timely response.
    -JD

    Like

Leave a Reply

