Drama Cleanse, days 15-18: The absolute worst thing that could happen?

  1. 5-minute Journal- check
  2. Podcast: Tony Robbins: Talking with Titans: A visit with Tim Ferris reveals the tactics, routines, and habits of billionaires, icons, and world-class performers.
  3. Visualize for 5 minutes – Every morning right when I wake up
  4. Exercise: Ride bike to and from bare3 class; Run; Bar Method/run; Bar Method/run
  5. Goal- First Shakespeare Meetup Group-success; Publish article: submitted one to elephantjournal.com
  6. Don’t-want-to-dos – knocked off 4

This week was not necessarily fun, but I tried to stay focused on how good it will eventually feel when I have all this shit sorted out and behind me. I don’t realize how much more energy I spend worrying about things than what it would take to just deal with them. I definitely had to put the ‘5-4-3-2-1’ tactic into use. A few items on my ‘don’t want to-do’ list felt like plunging into the deep end of an empty swimming pull.

Podcast:

NUTSHELL:

I listened to this one twice over the span of 4 days, and it was probably the best one I could have chosen to help me get through this week. Robbins basically just picks Ferriss’ brain about what he has learned from all of the amazing people he has interviewed, and how he has used the tools/words of wisdom to accomplish what he wants in his own life.

As you all know, Ferriss fascinates me and I continue to be more in awe of him the more I listen to him. This one is worth listening to because you get a sense of how far he has come despite major obstacles, setbacks, and his battle with extreme depression (includes a heartfelt account of his near suicidal experience).

He shares an exercise he always puts himself through when he feels stuck or needs to make an important decision. He sits down with a pen and paper (or computer) and makes 3 columns:

Column 1: List of the worst things that could happen

Column 2: List of actions he could take to minimize the likelihood of those things happening

Column 3: List of things he could do to get himself back to good as quick as possible if worse case did happen (which in most cases it doesn’t).

TAKEAWAY:

This exercise was the most impactful thing for me. It seems so simplistic, but it was ridiculously hard to get myself to sit down and do, especially while in mid-descent down the rabbit hole. This particular situation, in conjunction with several others, has been overwhelming to me to the point of paralysis. Writing it down and spelling it out meant admitting that it was really happening. And if it was really happening, then I really had to finally deal with it.

But by avoiding it, letting in snowball into this all-consuming tragic ending, we end up giving so much power to ‘that which shall not be named’. It becomes this intangible force that infiltrates every aspect of our lives, not because of the actual consequences happening, but because of all of the time and energy we spend panicking about them potentially happening. Yes, there will be consequences. But they will most likely be substantially less severe if we actually take action to know and decide what they will be.

As I laid in bed playing out worst case scenarios, I caught myself and started to think of other situations that I have been through that seemed similar in severity. There were a few that came to mind and none of them did me in. Each was resolved and none prevented me from being happy or living a full life.

So I got up, grabbed a pen and paper, and dismantled my mess piece by piece. It’s not pretty, I assure you. I can’t fix it all in a day or even months, but it can be fixed. And those days or months or years are going to pass regardless, so I might as well spend them empowered by the fact that I am taking action vs. anxiously waiting for the sky to fall because I am not.

I’m proud of us, we are making progress. My friend did call me out today, though. He told me I should maybe try to do something fun today. Fun. I can honestly say I have no idea what that might be right now. But I’m going to think about it and come up with something that I will do this weekend… it’s a start.

Optional steps/practices for next few days:

  1. Journal
  2. Podcast
  3. Visualize
  4. Exercise
  5. Step towards goal of choice
  6. Cleanse of your choosing (if you have not started/completed yet)
  7. Check off one thing on your list of things you don’t want to deal with.
  8. DO SOMETHING FUN

Recources

  1. Journal App.fiveminutejournal.com
  2. Visualization: Mike Dooley (visualization tips: http://www.tut.com
  3. Podcast Referenced: Tony Robbins: Talking with Titans: A visit with Tim Ferris reveals the tactics, routines, and habits of billionaires, icons, and world-class performers.
  4. Exercise: barmethod.com/online
  5. Cleanse products: Renew’s 7 day Rapid Cleanse, Milk Thistle, Probiotic, Apple Cider Vinegar: https://www.davidwolfe.com/1-tbsp-acv-eliminate-health-problems
Leave a Reply

