Drama Cleanse, day 12: Apples/Oranges

  1. 5-minute Journal- check
  2. Podcast: Beautiful Writers Podcast: Brene Brown: Daring to Create Greatly
  3. Visualize- This morning
  4. Exercise: Bar Method (Barmethod.com/online)
  5. Goal- (speaking to students at independent school) Listened to second workshop by TedTalks Founder Acumen Presents: Chris Anderson on Public Speaking

So I decided it was time to do a cleanse. I think it’s an important part of the reprogramming/fresh start process. I did go easy on myself on this one, however, and just committed to a 7-day one. It’s a start and denying myself of all vices for weeks at a time just isn’t realistic for me right now.

So I’m doing Renew’s 7 day Rapid Cleanse. It’s gentler than most so you can still function in your daily lives. I added a tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar to the mix (see link to benefits below), probiotics (replenishes good bacteria that fights the bad), and Milk Thistle (promotes liver and kidney health). I’m also not going crazy with the diet portion either, which I will emphasize is very important (the less toxins you put in, the easier it is to flush out the present ones). But I am trying to make sure everything I eat is organic and hormone free, and adding in as much green things as I can.It’s a start…

Podcast: Beautiful Writers Podcast: Brene Brown: Daring to Create Greatly

As you know by now, I’m kind of a fan of Brene Brown. Although the focus of this podcast is on writers, the content is applicable to all endeavors and is not gender specific. Brene’s background is entrenched in dissecting shame, its origins, and ways to dismantle it. This interview is just picking her brain about her approach, what inspires her and a cool story and lesson learned from her interview with Oprah and meeting Maya Angelou (Soooo envious of that one).

Takeaway:

The thing that struck me most is when she discussed ‘comparison’. I think it is one of the main factors that contributes to why we get stuck, crippled by insecurity and self-doubt, which I think results in our fear of failing and unwillingness to take the risks needed to get where we want.  For example, I go on Facebook and see nothing but all of my friends’ pictures of their kids- their kids’ accomplishments, family photos of their vacations- and I start to compare my life to theirs. They all seem so happy. They have these beautiful children. I have none. They seem happily married or remarried. I’m single. They have the beautiful house with a big yard and a dog. My place is most likely as big as their walk-in closets. They have successful careers. I am completely starting from scratch.

And I truly hope all of the beautiful things in their lives are as they seem. But the reality is they struggle, too- with their marriages, with their kids, with their careers. They all have or will go through a crisis of sorts and they all will have regrets or dreams that might not come true. Many have confessed to me that they long for freedom as much as I long to find/have a family, home, etc.

So, if I can stop myself from scrolling for a second, I try to shift my thinking and reflect on the cool shit I have done and my own accomplishments. Yes, they are very different. No, my life is not perfect and certainly did not turn out as planned. But what I have, what I can be grateful for, is the freedom and drive and courage to decide what direction I want it to go from here at a point in my life where I really know what I want. I get to reinvent myself in whatever way and at whatever pace that is right for me. This is not to say that my friends can’t do the same, but I understand that they don’t always have the freedom to make all the changes they might want at the time that they want to.

All this to say, I am making a concerted effort to stop comparing myself to others and shaming myself for all the things I have done/not done up to this point. I can only start from where I am, taking with me the lessons I have learned and the gifts I have received. I simply have to start embracing my story, not wishing for someone else’s. And when I can successfully frame it this way (which, I assure you, is not always), I am actually proud of my story, as messy as it has sometimes been. And I am most definitely excited about how it will unfold.

My two favorite things Brene said:

  1. Don’t forget to look for inspiration (magic) in the ordinary, everyday moments, whether it be a message you get from a billboard sign or a person you meet at the coffee shop. Everything that appears in your life appears for a reason. We can just get so wrapped up in our drama or go into coasting mode, that we forget to pay attention.

So don’t forget to look for it…inspiration, gifts, magic…whatever it is that you need.

  1. The host threw out some fun, lighthearted questions to dig a little deeper into who Brene is and how she ticks. When she was asked to choose “sex or sleep”, her response: “There will not be one without the other.”

Brilliant. Although I will confess, I only really agree with one side of that one. Oops, too much? Inappropriate? Probably. But what the hell, it’s true.

Drama Free Options for Day 13

  1. 5 minute Journal
  2. Podcast
  3. Visualize
  4. Exercise
  5. Step towards goal of choice
  6. Cleanse of your choosing

Resources

  1. fiveminutejournal.com
  2. Visualization: Mike Dooley (visualization tips: http://www.tut.com
  3. Podcast Referenced: Beautiful Writers Podcast: Brene Brown: Daring to Create Greatly
  4. Exercise: barmethod.com/online
  5. Acumen Presents: Chris Anderson on Public Speaking: https://www.udemy.com/courses/
  6. Cleanse products: Renew’s 7 day Rapid Cleanse, Milk Thistle, probiotics, and apple cider vinegar: https://www.davidwolfe.com/1-tbsp-acv-eliminate-health-problems/

 

Leave a Reply

