Inauguration Day

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

               –Margaret Mead

Today is an especially sad one for me on many levels. Yes, for the obvious reason. It is also the day I am putting all of my belongings into boxes, yet again. I made a terrible decision and I am suffering the consequences.

And I am leaving.

Some say I am running. But the people who really know and love me have pleaded with me to run, to run as fast and as far away from here as I can. Whether it be running or simply just taking care of myself, I am leaving. And, on some level, it is empowering. I am taking decisive action, and I am taking back control of my life.

And, on some level it is sad. It is the end of an era that was full of hope and dreams coming true. I truly believed I was living life to the fullest and making my dreams come true. It was honest and exciting and full of possibility.

And it is over, at least this phase of it is, and it is scary. I have no idea what the future holds. I have no idea how to even feel or what to do to make sure I do not take 10 steps backward, which quite honestly, I feel like I have already done.

I believe our country, too, has made a terrible decision. And I believe that we will suffer the consequences. It is scary. We have no idea what the future holds and there is a real fear that we will take 10 steps backward.

And I am leaving.

You can say I am running. And yes, part of me just wants to run like hell, as fast and as far away as I can. The irony is that I always said that if he becomes our president, I’m out. I am moving to Paris. And here I am, moving to Paris. But it is not because he became our president, although it is a timely coincidence. It is for many reasons.

But I am not running from my responsibility to serve others, to try to make a positive impact in their lives, to work like hell to empower them. That, I will always try to do, regardless of what continent I am on.

If nothing else good has come out of this, this is exactly what I have seen so many people do to counter the terrifying prospect of oppression, bigotry, misogyny, and extreme, destructive actions that are driven by greed, power, hatred, stupidity, and fear.

People have hit the streets. They are taking decisive action to make a difference in the lives of others in their schools and communities. They are doing whatever they can, no matter if they are only one person, no matter how seemingly small their actions may be. They are taking control. They are making an impact. They are changing the world.

This is all we can do. There is no sense in looking back or wishing things would have turned out differently. It does no good. That is not the direction we are going. We can only take steps in the present to make sure our future is what we dream it can be.

So please, don’t lose hope. Don’t give up. Don’t think you can’t affect the outcome and make a difference. You can…and we will.

Your faithful gypsy,

b.breazeale

obama-goodbye

Leave a Reply

