NEW YEAR, NEW ADVENTURES

In keeping with the theme of the new year, I decided it was time to take a few concrete steps towards achieving what I have always wanted. Even if it seems minuscule, it is simply time, to take a risk, to be completely vulnerable, to expose myself to judgment and criticism. Because the reality is, if there is even a small chance that one of you gets something out of this- inspiration, comfort, laughter, entertainment, insight, perspective- anything positive, then it is a risk worth taking.

A bit of background- I am a 42-year-old woman who believes and acts (some generous folk even say look) like I am early 30’s- ish. I am single, I am a bit of a free-spirited gypsy with my share of baggage, and I have lived a very full life that at times, especially at the moment, feels very empty.

So here I am at an enormous crossroads in my life. In the past year, I divorced my husband, who has been my rock for the past 10 years and is quite possibly the most amazing man I have and will ever meet. I have packed up and moved my shit five, soon to be six times, left my job, my dog, and my tribe and moved to Arlington, Texas to be with the person whom I thought was the love of my life. And then ‘the love of my life’ changed his mind.

So next stop, Paris, France. This is my story. It is a crazy one. It is adventurous, fun, heartbreaking, and hopefully inspiring. I’m not sure what direction this will go- the ‘theme’ that is supposed to keep you all coming back- but I promise to be honest, to be authentic, to share all the lessons I have learned and anything else that might provide you with the incentive to keep reading on, to share your stories, to be inspired and encouraged and motivated to live your life to its fullest. And to always be unapologetically you.

Here’s to the new year. I hope it is your best yet and you make huge strides in realizing your dreams, even if those strides start with the tiniest step and seem a million miles from where you want to be. You can only get there by taking that first step and following it with another and then another…looking for the magic along the way.

Much love,

Your Faithful Gypsy

Leave a Reply

